forgot password?

Roland 700 - using with Logic Pro
Posted: 18 May 2012 06:35 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-05-18
Is it possible to use a Roland 700 (from 1987) with a Mac, as a controller for Logic Pro? I have tried linking with a MIDI-to-USB cable but nothing happened. I'd be grateful if you could help or advise where I could find out.

Many thanks
Posted: 02 August 2012 01:08 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-08-01
As fas as I am aware the USB connection is only for saving patches as a file on your PC or mac. You can use your RD as a controller keyboard on a iMac or Mac Book Pro by using an midi interface such as M-Audio Midi Sport, which is what I use. gulp
Posted: 02 August 2012 07:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Total Posts:  2002
Joined  2008-10-15
A crossed wire in there somewhere, there is no USB at all on the RD-700.

Sounds to me if Katharine has fell victim to another one of those cheap n' nasty (tm) USB-to-MIDi leads.

A dedicated interface, as suggested, might be a good idea.
As with anything computer related, don't forget such things need drivers, and recently Apple released a new version of it's OS, and not every device has drivers, and in some cases may not even get a driver..
Who do Apple think are, Microsoft?

the Sonic Energy Authority