Roland Forums

Midi USB Drivers for VA-5 and JV-50
Posted: 10 April 2012 05:16 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-04-10
I'm trying to find Midi USB drivers for the VA-5 and JV-50 but can't find them anywhere.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

Phil

Posted: 11 April 2012 12:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  312
Joined  2010-12-09
MIDI doesn't need drivers - as far as I can tell both these devices just have MIDI connectors. If you are using a USB to MIDI device to connect to these Roland instruments then any drivers for that will be from whoever manufactered that USB device.

Posted: 11 April 2012 12:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-04-10
Thanks - I'm getting more and more confused.

I'm a newbie to Midi, so excuse the complete lack of knowledge.

I bought Propellerhead Reason Essentials and a Maplin Midi / USB connector to link either of these keyboards to my laptop with the idea of using one or other of the keyboards as a midi controller. BUT...... Reason can't "see" either of the keyboards.

Propellerhead support told me I need to find drivers for the keyboards, but Roland support tells me they don't exist and that I should just buy a Roland UMONE midi interface.

The UMONE looks identical to the Maplin connector I already have, so I'm loathe to buy something else that still may not work.

Help!!

Posted: 11 April 2012 05:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1893
Joined  2008-10-15
I've bought one of those Maplin USB-to-MIDI leads to try and run SoundDiver on a laptop..

It was virtually useless, and being Maplin, vastly overpriced, it's no different to the cheap and nasty ones available form a well know on-line auction site.

The Roland version 'may' be more robust, and stable.