Roland Forums

 
   
 
My D-50 has lost four voices
Posted: 22 August 2011 12:55 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2011-08-22
Hello all

My beloved D-50 has gone from being 8 voice (in dual mode) to 4 voice. Correspondingly it's also now only 8 voice in whole mode instead of 16.

Is this a software or hardware fault? And is it as simple as the repair for the Juno-106 (i.e. replace a voice chip) or is it more terminal than that do you think?

Any advice much appreciated.

Thanks!
Rob
Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2011 01:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1987
Joined  2008-10-15
It's strange..
Not heard of a D-50 losing voices before.

Question:
Have you MIDI'ed up the D-50 recently?
If so, is the "local control" turned off?
 Signature 

the Sonic Energy Authority

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2011 01:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2011-08-22
Thanks for the reply.

Now this is strange! I didn't even switch it off or on again, I simply pressed the MIDI button to check on the 'local control' (incidentally it was set to 'on') as per your suggestion.

And suddenly the missing voices returned! How bizarre.

I have recently been using the D50v software programmer (finally I'm able to get to grips with programming the D-50) so maybe all the MIDI back n forth was messing something up somewhere. Seems strange that the problem was cured just by pressing the 'MIDI' button though.

Anyway problem solved (phew!) and thanks again.

Rob
Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2011 01:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2011-08-22
OK scrap that - got nothing to do with the MIDI button!

It seems to be an issue with the software editor - once it's closed then everything's back to normal.
Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2011 01:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Moderator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1987
Joined  2008-10-15
Glad to hear it's back to normal..

It would appear the software editor (Chris Nightingale's?) has a MIDI thru function, and is echoing the MIDI data back to the D-50.

You can normally hear a "flamming" effect as it takes a few milliseconds to send and receive the MIDI note data where as the note plays instantly direct from the D-50.
 Signature 

the Sonic Energy Authority

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 August 2011 04:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Newbie
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2011-08-22
I was actually using the demo version of this: http://www.vst-control.de/D50v.html which I was evaluating to see if I will buy the full version.

Found the MIDI thru toggle and tis all fine.

Just checked out Chris Nightingale's software though - like it! Think I'll give that a go. Great to be able to drag the envelopes around. Plus it appears to be free...

Cheers
Rob
Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 April 2012 07:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Jr. Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2010-05-12
Hi all,

With regard to the D50 Librarian echoing the incoming MIDI back to the D-50, yes it's a problem which someone spotted recently. It was never an issue for me because I was using a D-550!!! What is happening is MIDI channel data which is coming in is being fed back out - it should only be doing this if the incoming MIDI channel data is coming from the "Remote Keyboard" input.

It will be fixed in an up coming patch (1.0.17.0)

Thanks,

Chris
Profile